California Gov. Gavin Newsom announced Thursday that the state is issuing a limited stay-at-home order for counties in the most restrictive reopening tier due to climbing COVID-19 cases.

The order, which will go into effect at 10 p.m. Saturday and last for one month, applies to the 41 counties in the purple tier. In the Bay Area, Alameda, Contra Costa, Napa, Santa Clara, Solano and Sonoma counties are currently in the purple tier.

Non-essential work and gatherings in those counties have to stop between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m.

“We’re asking that as part of this targeted, limited stay-at-home order that people are home by 10 p.m. and stay home until 5 a.m.,” California Health and Human Services Secretary Dr. Mark Ghaly said.

During that time window, people can still do a limited number of activities outside of their home, including going to the grocery store or drug store, walking their pets, and getting takeout from a restaurant.

This story uses functionality that may not work in our app. Click here to open the story in your web browser.


By Richard Moran

Richard Moran loves to write about sports with the Golden State Online. Before that, he worked as a senior writer at ESPN. Richard grew up in San Diego and graduated from the University of San Diego in 2004, after which he worked as an editor for five years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *